Blue skies

Today marks the end of my sixth year with Blip. At least I think so, I always seem to have my blip birthdays all mixed up. If it is not today - apologies!

I thought about what to put in my write-up and did not want to do a repeat of the previous years.

Here are a few quotes, stories, to ponder:

John Ruskin said:

"Remember that the most beautiful things in the world are the most useless; peacocks and lilies for instance."
(If that is so, at least their beauty has brought a bit of enjoyment into my blip efforts).

Percy Harris said:

"Skill in photography is acquired by PRACTICE and not by PURCHASE".
(Hard/harsh words!)

Said by Anonymous:

"I can PRESERVE a child's smile, make any woman feel BEAUTIFUL, bring a grown man to TEARS fifty years from now,
AND FREEZE TIME."

(True words!)

Lisette Model said:

"Photography is the easiest art, which makes it the hardest."
(She knows a few things then!)

Ansel Adams wrote:

"A true photograph need not be explained, nor can it be contained in words "
(Wise words.)

Aaron Siskind said:

"Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever . . . it remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything."
(Beautiful and true words.)

Bruno Barbey said:

"Photography is the only language that can be understood anywhere in the world.
(Yes, but what about the language of love?)

A story told by Sam Haskins:

"A photographer went to a socialite party in New York. As he entered the front door, the host said: "I love your pictures. They're wonderful! You must have a fantastic camera!"
Haskins said nothing until dinner was finished, then: "That was a fantastic dinner! You must have a wonderful stove!"

(Ouch words)

Henry Cartier-Bresson:

"Your first 10,000 photgraphs are your worst."
(I have no words but to agree!)

Berenice Abbott sums up what Blip has meant to me: It helped me to see.

Thanks and appreciation to all the Blip friends who left kind words and comments on my efforts.
You and your journals have been a great inspiration to me. Thank you.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.