Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Little Red Robyn Hood

This afternoon I was going to Hexham to take in bags of previously loved clothes for a charity shop. I made a detour to Heavenfield because I had spotted lots of Queen Anne's Lace in bloom when driving past.

There is a rather good hay meadow developing with lots of yellow rattle (an important element in a hay meadow because it is saprophytic and weakens the grasses it grows on, allowing other species to thrive). I was happily taking shots when two walkers and their 2 dogs came along the Hadrian's Wall Trail. They were mother and daughter, doing the whole trail, and were persuaded that they would love to have their photographs taken! I did plan to blip flowers, but, for me, the portraits from occasional encounters like this always win. Robyn looked wonderful with the feather in her hair so she is my blip.

This morning I had a routine follow up appointment at the General Hospital in Newcastle. I nearly didn't mention this here, because I was seeing the lovely psychiatrist who keeps an eye on my mental health, since I was depressed a few years ago. If this had been an orthopaedic appointment about Arth, I would not have thought twice about saying it. I don't want there to be any stigma about mental health issues, but here I am, almost ashamed to say I have had problems myself. Hypocrite! There are powerful taboos in operation. Anyway, I found the appointment very helpful in putting a few things into perspective and I am so glad the NHS provides a good service for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.