The Grapes of Wrath

“and in the eyes of the people there is the failure; and in the eyes of the hungry there is a growing wrath. In the souls of the people the grapes of wrath are filling and growing heavy, growing heavy for the vintage.” John Steinbeck, The Grapes of Wrath

Here are my grapes………….

I haven’t seen this film, an omission maybe, but I have read the book several times. It’s one of the most powerful stories I’ve ever read and I consider Steinbeck to be one of the World’s greatest writers. I’ve recently signed a petition against new Government guidelines which discourage the inclusion of “Of Mice and Men” (along with Harper Lee’s “To Kill a Mockingbird”) on the GCSE English syllabus.

“A Department of Education spokesperson said: "In the past, English Literature GCSEs were not rigorous enough and their content was often far too narrow…”

“…It does ensure pupils will learn about a wide range of literature, including at least one Shakespeare play, a 19th century novel written anywhere and post-1914 fiction or drama written in the British Isles.”

Can anyone else spot the contradiction between these two statements??

………that was my wrath!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.