Just a Pebble from a Beach.

An inch and a half long and it fits quite snugly in the palm of my hand. Is it important? Well, that depends upon your basis for comparison. People died in their 1000s in a single day trying to gain control of this pebble. The pebble was part of a beach, which led to a cliff which led to some fields. Worth fighting over?

This pebble comes from Omaha Beach, and it was fought over 70 years ago today during D-Day... I picked it up 7 years ago there. It has sat on a shelf in my study ever since.

I lost some dear friends during my time in the military. It is the small things that do not seem important at the time that sometimes make you stop and think afterwards about the bigger picture.

RIP brave people. You may never even appreciate how important your self-sacrifice was, but you will never be forgotten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.