foxfollower

By foxfollower

Quaker Meeting House, Chesham

Area Meeting this afternoon was at Chesham Meeting House. I was very interested to see it, as I haven't been there before, although I lived and worked in Chesham for several years (but a long time before I became a Quaker).

The building dates back to 1798 and is beautifully plain and simple inside. There is a history of religious dissent in Chesham dating back to the 15th century; in 1532 Thomas Harding was burnt at the stake in the town for being a Lollard and heretic.

The meeting went well and finished in just under two hours, despite quite a long agenda, thanks to good clerking. I was able to speak to my report on the Quaker Life Representative Council meeting in April, and felt it was well received - although one Friend said to me afterwards that she was depressed by how much reading we seemed to be expected to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.