Picmix

By Picmix

new pup

This is Selkie, my friend's new pup. She's about 8 weeks old here. Went to see her for the first time today, just outside Dunblane. It took me ages to get this pic because she just wouldn't stop running around with excitement. She thought the camera was a new toy to attack and play with. I eventually captured her just as she looked up from having a drink of water.
Had to set off home early to get back in time for the Runrig concert in Glasgow. It takes absolutely ages to get through the extensive roadworks on the M80 south of Stirling especially if you find yourself in the wrong lane for where you want to go (as I did!) I feel sorry for anyone who has to do this every day.

Incidentally Selkies (also known as silkies or selchies) are fictional creatures found in Faroese, Icelandic, Irish, and Scottish mythology.They can shed their skin from seals to become humans. The legend apparently originated in the Orkney and Shetland Islands, where selch or selk(ie) is the Scots word for seal.
My friend has Orkney connections, hence the choice of name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.