Let the Circus Begin

After an unusually well dimensioned day at work, I arrived home on time, and took a lazy, traily, run on the moor. Nice to come across an old friend Ewan hitting the trails so we got to run some together and catch up.

So now, having not really connected with the usual pre tournament hype I'm going to suspend cynicism and join in the carnival from my couch.
I'm missing not having Matt at home, he's the only one who fully embraces these things, it has been the first World Cup for a long time that hasn't been heralded by wall charts, and sticker swapping.

My first memory of the World Cup was in 1970 - Mexico City (well actually for me Whitehaven, Cumbria), we didn't have a TV (I get odd glimpses when I look back about how mum and dad must have struggled financially at times), and a neighbour up the road asked us to join him for the final game. I didn't know much about football, but even I knew that the Brazilian side that won against Italy that day were something special.
Oddly I have a clear memory that I watched the game in colour but also know that colour TV hadn't reached Cumberland back then - funny memories imprint over others.

So after all that healthy activity, I've got couch, remote, beer and crisps - come on Brazil, play the game beautifully!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.