Kipper Cabin

By KipperCabin

Fiddy!!

Well! I was beside myself when I came across this wee gem at ten past nine this morning in the Beacon Thrift Shop, so I was!

There it was, perched high on the wall, ladder access only. I scrunched my eyes and craned my neck for closer inspection ... yep ... an old paint by number for sure.

The teachers are on strike here at the moment, so a school boy was manning the shop in his spare time. I flagged him down.

Me: "How much is that boat picture up there?"

School boy: "Art's half price today, so it'll be fiddy."

Me: "......?!"

Me: "Sorry?"

School boy: (all testy like) "It costs a dollar. But today art is half price. Half a dollar is fifty cents". (as if arithmetic was the root of my problem)

Me: "Oh! Right! Well. Hmmm. Kin y'do any bedda dan fiddy?"

School boy: (gives me a rather withering look)

Me: "Jis kiddin'! I'll take it"

If you look closely you'll notice the boat appears to be tethered to the dock. Why anyone would leave an unmanned boat under full sail tethered to the dock is a mystery! Unless, of course, that building over there on the left is a proper pub.

School boy: "Can I wrap that for you, Ma'am?'

Ma'am?! I beg your pardon!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.