The path

The Port Hills are dotted with path ways and steps, some of them hidden and gems in their own right.

I often discover news ones I didn't know exist. But I did know about this one. As you can see it's short and sharp/steepish and it's just up the road from where I'm staying.

Handy enough for using on my way to meet be@nz for a catch up at my local cafe. Lovely as always to catch up. As is often the case we discussed quake repairs. That's what we do in Christchurch.

Today's good news is I can proudly say I ran on the hills this morning. There was a little walking but not much. My foot was well behaved and I was respectful towards it. Of the 70mins I was out, about 35 mins was running uphill. I'm so pleased and grateful my break has healed well. It could have been a lot worse.

I headed around home and spent the best part of 2 hours sorting the walk in storage cupboard at the back of the garage. It's needed it for a long time but I felt scared about being in a confined space when earthquakes were frequent. Plus, it waa unusually mild today and not like walking into a fridge.

There is also the small matter that I have a leak in the right back corner. It will need fixing but for now the house is my priority. I filled the recycling and landfill bin so good effort hpx!

The builder was working on the floor/wall issue I'm paying for and the Brazilians arrived while I was there to do more stripping and plastering.

Tonight I've been around home with the fisher/hunter so he could have a look at couple of electrical things. I was a little stressed to discover the alarm was set but the downstairs ranch slider (sliding door) was unlocked and the upstairs one didn't have the deadbolt locked.

But no body has died or is in hospital. A couple of polite notes left on the bench and door, and a text to the project manager on Monday should suffice.

In the meantime I have sleep to get and a tramp to look forward to tomorrow. Yes, hpx returns to the high country tomorrow for a little jaunt :-)

I am so very pleased and it is an opportunity to leave the worries and concerns of my house behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.