I'm up here. Where are the peanuts?

Today is a relatively quiet day. It is gray with a bit of typical Pacific Northwest rain. A drop here. A drop there. If you run you just might dodge them and come home dry.

I slept in. It was quite late when I finally emerged and started refilling the feeders on the deck. We have lots of Steller's Jays right now. There are the older fellows. (I saw Roger this morning and he or she has been coming for a long time, seven or eight years.) And the teenagers, bold and brash fellows and gals who tussle for the food and seem to be having a ball jabbering at each other. In fact I nearly blipped a photo of them looking like they were gossiping about their friends. And then there are the newbies, the juniors who have barely turned blue and who have very fluffy gray feathers.

Honestly I'm not sure where this fellow is in the pecking order and I don't know how old he is. I'm sure he's not an oldie as they get a bit motley and he isn't. Anyhow, here he is, looking quite annoyed that the nuts were not out right on time this morning. I recommend you look large to get a really close look at his expression.

I thought I'd toot my own horn a bit and share something that happened to me yesterday. I got an email from the Audubon Magazine letting me know that they had built a web page of the top 100 photos in their 2012 photo contest and one of my photos would be on the page. They plan to highlight one photo each day and wanted more information about mine. I forgot honestly that I'd even entered and I did not know that I was chosen as one of the 100. Got to say, I was thrilled, especially when I took the link to the page and saw what amazing photos were chosen. I am truly humbled by the fact that mine was one of the ones chosen. Here is the page where you can see all these amazing photos. If you click on the fifth dot in from the left, on the fifth line down, you will see my photo. It is one of the ones I got when I was making a video of the mother and baby hummingbird in Big Rock Garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.