5.15am - really!!!

The second part of my annual birdwatch Ireland jaunt and it involves getting up horrendously early ie 4.45am!!! I think I'm justified in using that amount of exclamation marks in this instance. A quick gulp of tea, fed the cats and off I went. At least it was getting light and the sky was pretty and pink and calm. Just nearing Durrus I realised I had no petrol and no money so had to zoom home and then re-start. I arrived at Derreenataggart at around 6.15. Tons of twittering going on in the hedgerows and masses of tiny beige birdeens making a racket but I'm not sure what they were - warblers of some kind. You can see what an expert twitcher I am. The most popular species today interestingly were bullfinches. Not a soul did I meet just some cows lined up for milking.
Petrol obtained in Ballydehob and too early to get the sunday papers,so I bought two still warm croissants and took them down to a beach where I had an al fresco breakfast and then, dear readers, I swam!! It was arctic when I first got in but rather lovely eventually. All this before 9 o clock!

Very interesting results from my roofs/rooves survey yesterday and I'm even more shocked. 13 of you were firmly for roofs, 4 thought both would be okay, and 4 went for rooves. I was convinced it was rooves - never have I said roofs! I agree with Arachne and a couple of others that rooves may be archaic (!) but it still sounds and looks much better. However, I have succumbed and roofs will now appear in the book. It seems hoofs is also acceptable and causes much heated discussion on the internet. Knives remains intact.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.