The Queen's Baton Relay...

I wouldn't normally take an interest in the baton relay. Just an object really, but what is probably more interesting is the people nominated to carry it on it's trip toward the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. Even more interesting when someone you know, someone who has a direct effect in your life and is considered by myself many of my peers as a living legend.

I've spoken about Kenny here before but to re-iterate, of which he is more that entitled, he proposed, designed and helped build what many skateboarders consider one of the greatest skateparks in the world right here in Livingston. He didn't stop there and has also been an integral part of the Scottish Skateboard scene ever since. I think the very unique flavour of the scene we have owes itself to the skate parties and events he organised on this very hallowed concrete through the years.

It was just brilliant seeing everyone coming together to see Kenny skate the Queen's Baton in, down and round the skatepark. He is very deserving of the recognition and I think brought a certain panache to the proceeding that I don't think you'll see many other 70 year olds doing.

Well done Kenny.

ps Kenny did furnish me with very interesting answers to my 5 questions yesterday, but as I figured, he was rather pre-occupied today so I'll save that for another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.