My Dad

As I didn't go to bed until the early hours of today I slept late. I'm lucky that Tino and Lily just let me sleep and don't cry and try to wake me up. I had a few things in mind to get on with today but it has been one of those days when I just couldn't get motivated. I did sort out my wardrobe and pack some winter clothes away.

Neil came here after work so I cooked him a meal. He is watching the World Cup match between France and Honduras. And I am watching the same match. He is upstairs and I am downstairs. Great to see two Newcastle players and one ex Newcastle player in the French team.

As its Fathers Day I have been remembering my Dad who died in 1995. He was a hard working chap - worked in a factory making mining machinery. Most of the time he worked one week day shift then one week night shift. On the day shift weeks he worked overtime on Thursday evenings, Saturday mornings and all day Sunday. In his free time he enjoyed making things with wood and tinkering about with his car. He spent a lot of time at the local Working Mens Club. We didn't have much in the way of luxuries when I was growing up but my Dad always managed to save up for a weeks holiday every year. He loved The Norfolk Broads and we spent many happy holidays there. My Dad would hire a cabin cruiser and we would travel around the Broads. This photo of my Dad was taken at Wroxham in 1971.

I would like the thank everyone for your lovely comments on my 1095th blip yesterday. I was thrilled to see that it made the Spotlight page. First time a blip of mine has appeared there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.