Looking out the kitchen window...

It is MonoMonday and the subject is "through the window." Thanks to Ranie for hosting. So this morning really early, I walked around taking photographs through some of the windows in our house. I had to leave very early on a mission of love and support and I knew I might not get back to taking pictures today. So before I left, I took photos of windows.

I chose our kitchen window because I spend so much time looking out of it while I'm preparing breakfast, lunch or dinner, or while I'm getting coffee from the espresso machine on the counter, or just because I happen to look out of it to see what the birds on the deck are up to. I guess, when I think of it, it is my favorite window in the house. It is a place where I feel at home and peaceful while I work and think.

We live in perpetual clutter. It is friendly clutter as you can see from this picture. Lots of cups on the wall. Spices on the wall. Dishes in the dish drainer. Vases waiting for bouquets of flowers to fill them. An orchid sitting on the window sill. Small glass objects collected by my husband and other trinkets here and there. There is really too much stuff out in view but I have grown used to it and find some comfort in the orderly way it hangs and sits about the area.

This is kind of like our lives, at least mine. It's all out, visual to the eye, right there. Somewhat ordered and somewhat chaotic. So this space fits me to a "T" but don't let my husband know as I am often asking him to tone down his share of the clutter, which I admit is greater than half. Anyhow, here is my kitchen window in large. It is a window out of my house but also a window into my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.