Aunty Nancy's Shell Collection

It has has been a busy and full on day for me today with very good news and some very sad news.

First the good news.. well think it is! I got a phone call this morning from my insurance company to let me know that my house is uneconomical to repair.. and it is going to be a rebuild. I am so pleased about that as the house really is a bad way.

Now for the sad news... Aunty Nancy's sister passed way on Sunday and she would have been 99 next week and her son thought she would have held on.. that is what he was telling me on Friday, when I was helping him clear Aunty Nancy's house as it has been sold. I really didn't know her as well as Aunty Nancy as she always lived in the North Island. Her son flys back to Auckland tonight... he is in shock but Aunty Nancy's place still needed to be sorted and cleaned. So I have spend the day helping him and what a job! He wishes he had started earlier.

I am really worn out and so dusty and dirty, can't wait to have a shower.. John was expecting me home for lunch but I only got in at 5pm. My car is full with stuff to got though. Things like hand embroidered linen and many items that I collect like stamps, coins, postcards and this interesting box which I haven't opened yet.. of shells. I think they may have been collect from the beach at Pigeon Bay where Aunty Nancy lived for many years and she was a teacher there at the school, which has now closed down. They are still in my car except for this box as I thought it would be my blip for today as I didn't get a chance to take any photos.

I well let you know tomorrow what I find in this box.. maybe northing much!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.