Life Savors

By osuzanna

Some Like it Hot

.... but this girl doesn’t!!! The temperature today is 91 degrees (32 C) and the heat index is 96 degrees (36 C). Heat index is a measurement of air temperature in relation to relative humidity and is used as an indicator of discomfort. Today is quite uncomfortable and the local authorities have declared a heat emergency. Summer has hit this swamp that is called Washington D.C with a vengeance and it will be like this all week.

I will have little time for a blip today as I will be out all evening, so I took a quick walk into the park looking for a worthy subject. The sun was too strong and bright so my options were limited. I have blipped this Spring House before and today I found it looking well cared for. The surrounding plants have grown and the little bench has been repaired. I love having this little piece of local history nearby. We don’t have a lot of “old” out here in the suburbs. This small building was once used for refrigeration so I thought it might work for the challenge. It is a reminder of an earlier era when our suburbs were all rural and there was no electricity for refrigeration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.