She's Back!

And I am so glad. I was really worried that the female flicker who comes to our suet feeder was dead. I thought that because I found a young female flicker on the road not far from my house. She had not survived an interaction with a car. I saw the male hanging around the area and knew he was mourning his mate. But today the female flicker came and I realized it was most likely another pair. Still sad, but happy news for those of us in the house who love to look these birds and enjoy close encounters with them. I had some trouble choosing which photo to post. You can see more on Chaikins of Bellingham. You might want to look at the large version of this photo to see the details in her feathers. I do love flickers and other woodpeckers. And of course those kookie jays.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.