wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

Not Beverly Sills irises

Well it's official. The neighborhood thinks I am crazy.
Now let me clarify for you. There is:
A little nuts
A little off
bat shit crazy
And WHOA!
I think my title is up for grabs.
My money is on:
Whoa

As I have said before, I am a walking fool. My fitbit tracks my steps. I have set a goal of 8000 steps a day.
That is mostly getting blown away. Today I did 10k or 4.17 miles. An evening walk is a pleasant way to end my day. I live in a real old fashioned 1950s neighborhood. Mostly cape cods and other modest homes. In the woods these HUGE houses have been built. Seriously over 5-6 thousand square feet. I can't figure that out in meters. Suffice it to say they are freaking huge.
Part of my walk is to go up my modest little street and up 3 hills. And come down and around 3 cul de sacs (who invented that term? It's a circle people deal with it)
with expensive homes with security signs on the front lawns,
And up and around main road and then home.

So as it is I am suspect walking around swinging my arms at a good clip with a camera case (around the neck and over the shoulder thing because I am afraid I will drop it) stopping occasionally to take a picture of something. People look through their windows. I see them......did I mention my pink sneakers?
The neighborhood gossip lives about halfway through my walk. It was in front of her house, as she peered through her window slats that it happened......I was attacked........ by little gnats. We call them black flies or midges or the Maine state insect. I was a bit ...well let's just say ...glowing as I was doing my fitness thing. The pheromones I was putting out seemed to call these little. bastards flies to me in droves. I walked along waving my arms in the air saying stop it you little things.....speeding up a bit. After I outran them, I scratched my head as I was walking, you know the full scratch, both hands wildly displacing hair and a few brain cells. (I am famous at work for this move. My friend Barb always says she knows what kind of day it has been by the look of my hair)
I them went Argh....went around the corner and the Mosquitos started. I was SO pissed (that means angry up here) and started slapping my arms and saying "cut it out" really loud.

Yup I am a spectacle to behold.

So I tried to salvage my reputation by saying hi to a few neighbors out in their yards or walking their dogs. Yeah not a lot of communication and no eye contact. This is not good.

So I returned to the house with the peeling paint..I am getting quotes as we speak.....walked up my back steps to be greeted by my not Beverly Sills iris. (I stand corrected!) Mom and Dad a number of years ago bought a few hybrid irises. These are beautiful.
They made me smile.
They make me forget about the black flies and Mosquitos.
Until now. My head itches like crazy .
Oh yeah I'll be a hit at work tomorrow
This endeth another day.
Goodnight and g'day to down under!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.