Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Too late to have your name in lights

Today was my Mother's funeral. In Harrogate. At Stonefall Crematorium.

Both of our children had bravely elected to attend. We gave them the option, and they chose to come along. Much braver than I was when my grandfather died. I was 19 at the time and still too scared to go.

There were many friends and a good proportion of immediate family in attendance, including Mum's big brother who is 11 years older than she was, and who we hadn't expected would be able to attend, but at 89 he was able to make the journey down with my cousin to pay his last respects.

My brothers have been a huge support to me - well I think we've all been looking after each other - and their families in turn have been supporting them through all of this sudden departure.

There were beautiful parts of the ceremony which I was unable to photograph as that would have been beyond some social limit which I was not going to cross. So I was left with the one part of the whole proceedings which my mother would have detested, and had I known about it, I would have had switched off. I wish I could have photographed the flowers instead.

My husband was a complete hero to me and many others who heard him recite this poem by Robyn Rancman: Miss Me But Let Me Go.. So appropriate for a dear lady who always put the needs of others before her own.

Love you Mum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.