I think I'll call her Douglas!

A new fellow gal joined the deck crowd today. I was really excited to see her. It's the first Douglas Squirrel I've seen on our deck and actually in our neighborhood. Douglas Squirrels are small and often intimidated by the bigger Eastern Gray Squirrels who frequent our area. The Dougs are local. They grew up here. The E Grays are imports and they really took over when they came. So it is such a treat to see a Douglas.

And boy was she cute. And pretty brassy. I actually was able to walk up within a few feet of her. I thought I'd scared her to death but soon after I went indoors she came out again and ran right up to the bedroom window. (I was at the dining room window.) Bunny, Helena's cat was there and that little gal ran right up to her. Bunny bumped her head on the glass trying to get to the squirrel. What a pisser she is! I am so delighted to have her in our deck crowd.

I had a heck of a time choosing which photo to blip. I took a bunch from inside before I ventured out on the deck. I selected this one because of the sharp focus. I posted the rest of them on Chaikins of Bellingham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.