An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Perfect Day...

Backblip

Well today's much anticipated day in St Andrews with David did not disappoint.

Once Alan had left for school, we pretty much jumped in the car and headed off. The weather was a bit dull and grey but at least it was dry.

Arrived in St Andrews and as promised, D carried my rather heavy camera bag to all the places I wanted to photograph. Started off along at the West Sands then the harbour then onto the Cathedral.

The sky was still grey so the light was a bit flat but the cathedral is just so spectacular in all its ruinous beauty, it's almost impossible to take a bad shot (I say almost as there are a few crappy ones in my camera :) Just at the point where the greyness vanished and the sun shone through, two coach loads of tourists arrived and within seconds they were swarming all over the cathedral grounds making it impossible to get a decent shot.

Not to worry, our tummies were rumbling by this point anyway, so time to head to Mitchell's for a full Scottish breakfast. Yummmmy!

After that there was 10 minutes to spare for another quick trip to the harbour, this time in full sunshine, before heading for my "treatments".

It really is amazing how sunshine affects the feel of a place. The harbour was much livelier than our earlier visit. Although I took better photos today, this one of the man gazing into the mud (that's all there was down there!) made me smile. Not sure what he was looking for, or maybe the appearance of the sun had coaxed him into an impromptu rendition of Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes. Whatever it was, it appealed to me.

David dropped me of at Chesterhill Therapies on South Street (he went to the golf range - surprise, surprise ;-) and for the next 2 3/4 hours I had THE most wonderful, relaxing time, starting off with an aromatic facial. Boy that girl has magic hands. Included in the facial was a neck and shoulder massage. Absolute bliss.

After the facial I then had my make-up done. In the past when I've had my make up done I always feel I am far too made up. I told her I wanted a natural look and that's exactly what I got. Fantastic.

Final treatment was a manicure and after initially choosing a fairly nude colour nail polish, I changed my mind at the last minute and went for a bright, summery coral. Not my thing at all but I love it. I got the keep the bottle of polish so will save it for my holidays.

David picked me up and with the sun still shining and the temperature well into the 20s, we headed to Janetta's for ice cream. Two scoops each - vanilla and pistachio for me and vanilla and chocolate for D.

Last drive round St Andrews with a brief stop for more photos at the beach, then home to get our boy's dinner organised.

Sun was still splitting the trees when we got back so David shooed me into the garden with a G&T and some olives, while he did Alan's dinner then proceeded to make ours too.

Thank you D, you couldn't have given me a better birthday pressie and the fact I've had it to look forward to since the dark, cold days of January, made it all the more special.

:-) xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.