Finding Vivian

Went to watch the film Finding Vivian Maier at the Filmhouse as part of the Film Festival. It was actually the UK premiere of this fascinating documentary about the story of the discovery of this street photographer's work and one of the directors was there to talk about it. It's already been talked about here on Blipfoto, and was introduced by fellow Blipper leasko. I won't say too much about the film other than to say I thought it was excellent and well worth trying to see - there's another showing as part of the Film Festival but I assume it will be on general release after that. On the way out I thought I'd just grab a quick shot of the poster (as we were on our way to a second film of the evening at Cineworld) and crop it, but I actually liked the couple standing beside it, with their faces obscured and their shadows slightly reminiscent of the photo of Vivian on the poster and therefore left them in.
And it inspired me a little to get that Paris book done, once and for all. Writing and talking about it doesn't get it out there and I don't want the pictures to be found on a hard drive after I'm gone, never having been published in the way I wanted. Even if the book gets created and no one else ever reads it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.