Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Boo!

I saw so many blip-worthy things today ... but this had to be "the one" ... a beautiful male Yellow Warbler, trying to scare me away from the trail. I have never seen a warbler behave this way before, and I can only surmise that he had a youngster nearby in the tree and was trying to get me to leave as quickly as possible. He hopped around from branch to branch with his wings spread wide. Now, keep in mind that this bird is only about 5 inches (13 cm) long - couple that with his brilliant yellow plumage and you don't exactly have The Intimidator! Still, I snapped about 30 shots in a little under 2 minutes and moved on. When I passed that section of trail several hours later, he was gone.

Other notable things I saw today...a blackbird attacking a great blue heron; a blackbird attacking a turkey vulture (are you sensing a theme here?); many cool dragons; several first-of-season butterflies; and a warbling vireo. It was a beautiful day - sunny, mid 70's with a nice breeze. I treated myself to lunch at my favorite little farm-cafe, then a quick spin through the gravel pit that I discovered last summer with Anni and PhotoMatt, then home.

I posted 16 other shots from todaystarting HERE on Flickr

It's the weekend ... which isn't as exciting right now with Hubs away. In fact, I am not looking forward to it. My mission will to be to keep as busy as possible. And to remember that it is only 13 days until our next visit!

Thank you for stopping by - your comments are always very much appreciated.

Happy Friday...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.