Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

Going gray

I had a hair cut today.

Angela, my hairdresser for 20 years, has given up trying to convince me to dye my hair. I have beautiful, thick, healthy hair - the kind hairdressers adore, or so they say. Quite a lot of it has gone gray, which I like, although gray hair on women makes most women and most hairdressers nervous. When the first strands of gray showed up, I was only in my late teens and I panicked, of course.

I dyed my hair once. Never again. When I was going through a punk phase at 17, I spent a small fortune to turn my black hair a savage pink, mainly to annoy my mum. She took one look at it, rolled her eyes skyward and didn't say a word. I looked like an idiot with pink hair. Served me right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.