lee peyton

By leepeyton

Introducing: The Tyre

This was the first joint training session myself and Gaz have managed since we decided to commit to doing the Yukon Arctic Ultra in February 2011 (http://www.arcticultra.de/en.php?Welcome). This is touted as the world's toughest and coldest ultra (long distance race) and with good reason! With 300 miles to run in a (very) maximum time of 8 days and with average February temperatures of minus 25 degrees C it's a big ask.

We've never done anything 'cold' before so we're entering totally new territory in that respect. Over the past years we've biked, ran & kayaked the length of the Outer Hebrides; won fastest mixed team in the Three Peaks Challenge (fire services) and were third in the Drambuie Pursuit in 2008, so we're not totally unfamiliar with a bit of pain and mind-numbing boredom.

Quality isn't great on the shot as I was using my iPhone and the lens was a bit cloudy from condensation in my chest pocket but it serves as a time-stamp of our training. The tyre dragging's not as bad as I thought, with the weight nicely coming off when you're running down hill. I'm planning to log as much of my training as poss here & hopefully it'll improve my photos too.

If you want to see how I'm getting on training for Yukon you can follow me on Twitter @leepeyton.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.