wait just one more shot

By Susanbmathew

The best part of Sunday.....

The fruits of my labor.
Today I did 4 loads of laundry.. Cleaned the kitchen twice, made a quiche and a strawberry rhubarb pie.
Oh did I mention breaking the faucet?
Yeah I have so many talents.
The funny thing about it? I watched the water shoot up, splash all over the counter and turned it off. I then said to myself, hmmm I bet it's a washer problem.
I have no idea what I was thinking. The only thing I know about plumbing is:
poop don't flow up and don't chew your fingernails.
So I waited for my husband to come home. Two seconds later.....fixed. .....I said what was it? "Washer" he said. I am the scariest woman in America.
don't say it Supertramp .
When I work with dough ( which I totally rock by the way) I roll it out on my pine dough board. I blipped this once before at Christmas time.
My grandfather Bean made this for my grandmother many many years ago. It is made from pine. Pine ages beautifully. It mellows as it ages. When you roll as many pies out on it as I have and my mother and my grandmother did, it develops a patina. don't tell me there is cooties on it.
On top of this is my mother's rolling pin. I think that is made of maple but, the many many many piecrusts and other doughs have also given the rolling pin a lovely patina. The ball bearings are gone from it. I grab the handles knowing that my mom held them many times. I will never hold her hand again however, just for a moment I almost do.
These make me smile. They make me feel loved and part of something bigger. I do not have any children and as it looks now, Ethel will not be growing thumbs anytime soon. So I will watch my nieces and nephews and see which one likes to work with dough. I would like to think these will continue on, making the circle bigger and filled with more love.
On another note I was very happy no one was sitting in my living room this afternoon. Well except Mia and she was watching YouTube on my cellphone. "Winter Birds" has appeared to take the place of "Party at the Snow Hole"
For those who do not know, Mia is my dad's cat who is addicted to cat videos on YouTube. I have blipped her before. She will even watch the oven if I turn the light on. I can't make this up people. I can't.
So I was posting something on Facebook. (Yes people actually get to see more of my life. Most are scared.) when I felt something move down my leg to the floor. I jumped about 6 feet in the air and yelped. I may have sworn. I can't remember. Turns out Ethel was on the other side of the couch. She went off like a rocket. I thought it was a mouse as there was a stuffed one in front of me on the floor. It was a pencil. A pencil rolled down my leg. I am so glad no one got a video of that. Mia did not move a muscle.

So another day in my life. I can't wait to go back to work tomorrow. This day off stuff is exhausting... Until then good evening and of course g'day to those down under!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.