CafeMistblick

By CafeMistblick

Honey Price Doubles

When the $$ goes up against the £, the oil price rises. When the £ goes up against the $, the oil price rises. When Iraq has a civil war the oil price rises. When the Island of Sark gives planning permission for a semi detached, the oil price rises.

Well I'm now jumping on the bandwagon. In 6 weeks time my honey price doubles. Until that time, I will not sell any honey regardless of all the begging. Phone is off the hook, told the postman I'm away for 6 weeks, closed my bank a/c to prevent anyone transfering funds to it and told my email spam filter to reject all correspondence.

The reason - in 6 weeks, I should have two complete new bee colonies from todays acquired, very venerable queen bees from the Benedictine Abbey at Ottobeuren. Not only were they raised by the monks but then sent to a special high altitude mating area for her "maiden flight" with selected Carniolan bees (A. mellifera carnica).

The site is at 1079m. Our conditions in Central Europe requires other characteristics to those say in the more temperate UK. The Carnica is a gentle bee, uses food well, increases rapidly in spring but does tend to swarm.

So I am now the owner of two "bee's knees" pedigree queens. Bliped are the certificates and the girls in their cages, barely visible. Have put them in a hive each still in their cages and will check tomorrow if the colonies are accepting them. If so, will fill the exit hole with sugar fandant and let the worker bees dig her out. If not, will wait another 24 hours and hope to then start the release.

Interesting times for me. More background to todays Blip on my regular journal. However very big thanks to MrB for setting the whole thing up and to Father Beda at the abbey for parting with his girls.

PS I have never taken a cent for my honey so doubling the price may seem extortionate but it's actually very good value for money : 0.00 + 100% = 0.00 and that includes 19% German VAT, P&P.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.