Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Virgin Territory

I had my hearing test this morning. First we went through much of the same stuff we'd covered during my first visit, and then went on to an explanation of how the results would indicate how bad my hearing is. The last time I had this done it involved being in a sound-proof booth and having sounds fed in to me. Now it's all done by computer, with sounds fed direct to earpods. I was convinced that the hearing in my right ear is defective but that the other ear is fine, but that isn't what the test showed. It turns out that I have significant hearing loss in both ears, with the right worse than the left.

After the test it was time to talk about what might be done. I was introduced to a typical state-of-the-art aid, which is tiny and consists of a pod which goes behind and a tube which slips inside the ear. It's small, but it isn't cheap, and anyway we're talking about an aid in each ear, each personally adjusted to my individual situation. The guy filled in a grant application form which he promised to send off immediately. I should hear within two weeks whether or not I qualify for a grant. Then I need to decide if the likely benefit justifies the expenditure. So, food for thought.

I treated my self to a little blip wander around town and then made my way home. The rest of the day was uneventful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.