Samaria Gorge

Rory and I celebrated our 2nd anniversary today by walking the Samaria Gorge. It's breathtaking. I've never felt so small in my life, and I can't say I've ever experienced anything as beautiful. The perfect way for us to celebrate!

We were up bright and early as the bus picked us up at 5 this morning. It's quite a distant to get to the entrance from Rethymno and the walk itself is long so it's a super early start. We had breakfast with the bus and then headed on our way.

I don't think there are words to describe Samaria Gorge. It's somewhere you have to go for yourself. Rory and I walked it in memory of his Papa who passed away last year as he told us we should walk it. I am so glad we went!

Reaching the narrowest part, after walking for such a long distance, is so special. It's something like 5 metres across as the most narrow part, you can almost touch both sides of the gorge at the same time! Although my memory of that section will always be of the hundreds of giant bees flying around.

We headed back to the bus by boat, which we weren't told made multiple stops and were not told which stop was ours. However, after panic on my part (Rory was as cool as a cucumber) and Rory's detective skills, we got off at the right port and onto the right bus. On the journey back to the hotel, we were given certificates for conpleting the Gorge Walk.

We headed into town to get dinner and a few cocktails to celebrate out anniversary. I can't believe it's been two years together, the time has flown past! Here's to the many years still to come!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.