Life Savors

By osuzanna

Lust for Life

At bit of an emergency blip tonight, as I had no free time today and certainly no time to get outdoors.

I have a collection of small boxes and this one in bronze is a favorite. It reminds me of the many paintings of irises by Vincent Van Gogh.

Lust for Life, starring Kirk Douglas, is the 1956 MGM film about Vincent Van Gogh, which was based on the 1934 novel written by Irving Stone. Anthony Quinn won an Oscar for his performance in this film as Paul Gauguin. Parts of the film were shot in Auvers-sur-Oise, where Vincent van Gogh lived, died and is buried. Here’s a little movie trivia: Director Vincente Minnelli had a portion of the field spray-painted yellow to more closely resemble Vincent van Gogh's painting.

This box actually looked better in B&W, but I couldn’t bring myself to remove the color from the book cover that the box is sitting on, which features one of Van Gogh’s painting

Anyway, that’s my movie connection for tonight. I hope to catch up with everyone’s photos tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.