Journey Through Time

By Sue

The Bees

I wanted The Bees by Laline Paull, but what I ended up with was The Bees by Carol Ann Duffy (British Poet Laureate), a small book of poetry. I have now corrected my mistake and am on the waiting list for Laline Paull's book. I'm not into poetry, but I liked this as this has been on my mind lately:

Ariel

Where the bee sucks,
neonicotinoid inscecticides,
In a cowslip's bell lie,
in fields purple with lavender,
yellow with rape,
and on the sunflower's upturned face;
on land monotonous with cereals and grain,
merrily,
merrily;
sour in the soil,
sheathing the seed, systemic
in the plants and crops,
the million acres to be ploughed,
seething in the orchards now,
under the blossom
that hangs
on the bough.


I read this a few days ago:

The White House is addressing the issues brought forth by the declining bee population. Efforts will be made to understand the effects of pesticides on bee and other pollinator populations, and find possible solutions to thwart the collapse of bee colonies.

While scientists don't yet have a reason for the recent deaths of bee and butterfly colonies, they believe exposure to multiple stresses such as parasites, lack of proper nutrition, and pesticides.


(Still fussing with garage sale stuff. We want this all ready to go by tomorrow so there is nothing to do Friday morning except open the doors and rake in the money. HA!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.