Northern Exposure

By Northern

Badminton

Back at the sports centre again today, this time with rackets and shuttlecocks.

Campbell recently took up badminton and when I say recently I mean he had his first lesson last Tuesday. Apart from some knockabout games at school or in the village hall he's never really played before. So when he said he wanted to take part in the primary school tournament I was a bit surprised to say the least. Still, he was keen so why not?

He didn't get very far in either the singles or doubles tournaments but he did enjoy himself. The standard of some of the kids was very high, I was impressed and it made Campbell keen to improve.

Only drawback with all this kids sporting activity is I just sit around watching. By the time we came home I felt as if I had been the victim of some strange sort of exercise deprivation torture. So I picked up my shovel and headed for the veg garden. Where I dug up carrots, weeded, then planted garlic until it got dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.