If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Goldfinch (Caruelis carduelis)

Busy day so I ended up with a choice between flowers (again) and birds through the living room window. So I chose this colourful pair.

European Goldfinch to give it its correct name, but I can't be doing with this urge to change common names when the scientific name separates them from any other Goldfinch. These two have been visiting the nyjer feeder a lot recently, always together. Most authorities say Goldfinches can't be sexed unless in the hand others say the male has red which extends slightly further behind the eye. If the second is the case the one on the screen right is probably the male. I assume they are a pair due to their always being together, I suspect a pair which haven't successfully bred, no evidence of fledgelings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.