A First For Forrest

Today belongs to Forrest. He phoned me at work this morning to announce that he'd got a first. That's a First-class honours degree in Sports Journalism. He was very surprised and completely made up. He was expecting an upper second but had tried to warn me in recent weeks that he might have slipped to a lower second! I've always had faith in his talent, especially when it comes to his writing, but he doesn't always apply himself as well as he should. He freely admitted that he hadn't worked that hard this year.

So he basically nailed it. He achieved the best result with the bare minimum of graft possible. He's always been very good at just doing enough to get the grades required and no more. And I've always admired that. I think I'm even more proud of his calculated measurement of effort than anything else. He's played it to perfection. Well done mate. I'm totally chuffed for you.

I've never found it easy to take a good picture of No.1 son. He hates having his photograph taken. But I do quite like the slightly shy self-conscious look here. It feels right. He's not quite come to terms with his own achievement yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.