About Blipfoto . .

Amongst a variety of local magazines, there is one called Ideas. Full of creative ideas, it is informative about events and many other interesting things as well.
In the March edition, there was a lengthy article on Postcrossing, with which quite a few Blippers are familiar with.

Reading about this, I thought that the Ideas readers should also be enlightened about Blipfoto and the joys of being a Blipper, so I sent them a letter. It seems that I missed the issue in which my letter was published, and I was quite surprised today that it had in fact been published in the issue of May 2014.

My daughter sent me a photo of the letter's page, and I will (try to) translate what was published for the benefit of those who do not understand Afrikaans. Since I refer to Postcrossing in my letter - and for the lack of a blip related image, I guess, a postcard image was put alongside it . . . oh well. .

Here goes: (Please bear in mind that English is my second language.)

Photo Diary

I have read your article on Postcrossing in the March 2014 edition with interest, as I have been an active Postcrosser since 2008. I want to tell you about Blipfoto (blipfoto.com), where an image per day is published in a (personalized) journal.
(Blipfoto) members range from all over the world, and they have joined Blipfoto for various reasons. Some use (Blipfoto) as a diary, relating about the day's happenings; it may be a Mom telling about the progress of her new baby; or a soldier in Afghanistan who wants to share his (visual) experiences, or somebody from the polar regions, whether living there or just passing through.

Sometimes the images are just ordinary and sometimes it is breathtaking.

Members of Blipfoto have a high regard for each other: respect and courtesy are prominent features of their interaction.

A Panel in Scotland (where Blipfoto started) ensures that no unsuitable content be placed.

Through Blipfoto, a person gets a glimpse into other people's lives, the world over. A person also has the opportunity to see and observe things which otherwise they would never have known about.

Many forums exist (on Blipfoto) of which the content is interesting and very informative.

Apart from the fact that one's horizon's are broadened, firm friendships have been established this way.

I live in the Garden Route and I know that there are quite a few Blippers located in the rest of the country. Despite the fact that nom de plumes are used, we identify the whereabouts of each other! (For obvious reasons!)
A lovely hobby that costs very little.

Cecile Schlebusch, George


0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0 - 0

I hope that this introduction, if I may call it that, has prompted a few new members from SA!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.