Sweet Pea at the Allotment

It was slightly overcast this morning and after walking the dogs around the Roedean Valley we headed over to meet a friend who was keen to show us his allotment. I was very impressed, not only at the range of fruits and vegetables but that such an oasis of calm could be created just minutes from the noise and bustle of central Brighton. Everyone was very friendly and I have to say that had we not been moving to a house with a garden, I may have put my name down on the list. However, I am sure ours would have ended up as a straggly, over grown patch that would have brought shame on our heads.
Talking of shame, youngest son announced that he was going to be moving out next week. He had found a flat and was signing the tenancy agreement. I have to say that I initially heaved a sigh of relief, not that he was moving out, but that I didn't have to become involved in the process. How wrong I was. First question popped up this morning. Could I "lend" him the deposit. I wearily agreed.
Then I saw 6 missed calls from him this afternoon and I was alerted to further problems. Because the company he works for are taking advantage of loop holes in the system they have employed him on a self employed basis. Even though he only works for them and goes in 5/6 days a week. The agency therefore could not accept his employment status without "someone" acting as guarantor. So, I feel that I have signed my life away. I have given him dire warnings about my good name etc etc. so I do hope
he listens. I do wonder though how he is going to manage as he currently lives at home rent free with all his food provided, and still manages to run out of money before the end of the month. Watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.