A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

All alone

I had hoped, and waited in vane, to see the Jays again today. I took a few shots of them yesterday morning before setting off for our train to Arnside.

No sign of them today so I was left with a picture of some pretty buns at church (two boys who are regular attenders were baptised today and the family provided yummy buns and cake) or some new planters that have appeared next to the war memorial in the centre of the village. These weren't very scenic but I imagine they are poppies for the anniversary of the outbreak of the First World War 100 years ago in August. Maybe they will be worth a shot when they actually have some flowers. There are no signs of the poppy seeds we planted or those which were planted at church back in April.

Whilst staring hopefully out of the window for the Jays I spotted this lone survivor of last year's glorious poppies in the garden. I popped out to photograph it before it disappears. I'm hoping they are bi annual as it took 2 years for them to appear from seed, if not this is the last of them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.