nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Microcamper

After a couple of sessions messing with the tarp it became a bit easier to do what I wanted with it, and now that rain was expected I was more bothered about it being up properly and securely.

I was hoping to meet up with a friend today, on her way back from Cornwall, but our paths had diverged (and phone signals were few and far between). I spent a bit of time driving around trying to find campsites that were on maps, but eventually saw a sign and followed a very narrow road to this site at a farm, which is brilliant. The farmer, John, who looks after the site, was very friendly and accommodating. He told me where to get to the river (Dart) if I wanted a swim, which I thought was mad to start with but did end up in it later - cold and swift.

I didn't realise before, but after being here for a couple of days and having an exploratory cycle around I noticed quite an alternative community around, lots of people living in caravans (or indeed tents at his site), I think many of them probably working on the Riverford Organic farm which is nearby. I found a great community shop in Buckfastleigh (The Seed), it turned out that one of the volunteers working there was staying at the same campsite as I was.

It's always interesting to see other people making their way through life in a different way to yourself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.