Hayeswater

Decided today to recce the first new walk for my active walking group in a couple of weeks time!

Planned and early start, but was prevented by the aga blowing itself out and dropping soot all over the kitchen - washed down the surfaces and relit it before going. Packed a lightweight rucksack with waterproof trousers, jacket, fleece, lunch and D800 with one lens. Drove the 28 miles to Hartsop village near Brotherswater and parked. Wondered why the top plate of the camera said "Err" then realised the SD card was sitting in my computer at home. Because I was on a different rucksack, my spare cards were in my camera bag - also at home. My choice was to drive there and back (56 miles on narrow roads) to get the card, and not start until lunchtime. Emma's prom was this evening and I was photographing beforehand (Pics here).

So with a wobbly bottom lip and a heavy heart, I left my camera behind and did the walk with nothing more than my iPhone!

But what a walk! Loved the mountain views, walked from Hartsop to Hayeswater, to Angle tarn, and enjoyed other views of Brotherswater from up high. A definite walk for the active walking week, but maybe one to leave tripods behind, if we're going to stand a chance to cover the 6 1\2 miles and 2000 ft.

Brilliant day - and I'm even quite pleased with the pics!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.