Trial and Error

By DawnC

Eye contact

I spent far more of this morning than planned at the fracture clinic with Son2 due to various delays which all seemed to emanate from the breakdown of one of the x-ray machines. When we finally got to see the surgeon (who I last saw in the anaesthetic room just before Son2's op a week ago today) we were only with him for about five minutes but long enough to review the x-rays (all is nicely aligned) and decide on a date for the wire to be removed and the cast to be changed for a lighter one. Meanwhile Son2 is going to have a scribe with him for his exams.

Then this afternoon I got to work to find that our office carpet, which the various office occupants have been asking to have replaced for fifteen years due to its threadbare (and for the last year holey) nature, has finally been replaced. The old one was brown. During the five years I've been in the office the whole of the rest of the Health Centre has been re-floored twice (once with blue carpet and then last year with a more hygienic wood effect lino). I wondered what they would come up with for our little office but for some reason wouldn't ever have guessed what we got......brown carpet!

Anyway, following a morning in a hospital and the afternoon in an office heady with the solvent that was used to fit the carpet, I felt the need to get out and about this evening and went off for a drive with my camera to look for some wildlife to photograph. Just when I was about to give up I had a wonderful encounter with a sweet little roe deer. One thing I've learned is that if you look them in the eyes they will look straight into yours and keep completely still, presumably hoping that they are camouflaged.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.