The Bull Ring, Antequerra

As I think I've said before, I'm not in favour of blood sports of any kind but I had to admire the architectural drama of the bull ring here in Antequerra, about 10 miles from where we are staying.

There was also a museum charting the history of the event in the town and the bulls' heads and matador costumes on display made you appreciate the bulk of the animals and how slight the matadors must be. Fights are still held regularly with festivals in May & August. The ring is over 150 years old.

We walked the length of what appears to be a prosperous town to the Moorish castle perched high at the other end of the high street which affords a fine view across the roof tops which I almost blipped and then on to the church dedicated to Carmen which boasts an impressively rich altar piece.

More swimming ensued late afternoon back at the villa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.