Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Blip Together

Well it's a good thing that my "bliptogether" photo today does not include an ER doc, as seconds before this shot, I nearly bit the pavement.....hard! Oh the feeling of a beating heart that suddenly stops due to sudden fright and extreme fear. And my thought, "Oh this will be easy, I won't need a bike helmet". The things that I will do for a blip........and in the rain no less!!!

Today, my daughter and I headed downtown for her ear appointment. Ten minutes after arriving to the office, we were back out the door. Hot Cocoa / Mocha time for us!!! We went to a cute little coffee shop. Inside, I was delighted to see the the walls filled with abstract portrait shots of people both young and old. The girl making our hot drinks said that they have a friend who travels to Thailand every year to work with children in various orphanages. The photos were full of so much emotion. Every single one. Each person photographed told a story, a story that filled the room. A story I would love to travel across the world someday to hear.

I love human interest stories. My heartstrings are pulled each and every time I see photos of the millions of people living in poverty. Poverty found in third world countries......poverty found on the streets of our own town. Mere miles from where I live. Someday, I hope to be a part of something big that will address this issue that so many people around the world are faced with everyday. I know that my family and I have made differences here and there, in our own small way. Giving presents and meals to a needy family(s) during the holidays, etc. But I would really like to be a part of something that really reaches out to the masses. I would love to take a trip with the sole purpose of donating my time, energy, and work to gather supplies needed to help in improving a poverty stricken area. My heart goes out to all of the thousands of families who have been affected by the earthquake in Haiti. What a difference we could all make if we could actually travel there and help comfort the families in need and work to strengthen morale while organizing funds and supplies being sent from all over the world.

Someday, I will take a trip like this. Someday, I will work to make a difference in the lives of the people living in the photographs today. For now, I just have to be conscious of all of the little things that I can do to help people within my own city. Within my own community. Within my own neighborhood. This is a city full of positive energy and positive people who truly do want to make a difference. I see it almost everywhere I go. It's the little things. People who offer up smiles. People who engage in chit chat while standing in line at the grocery store. People who take the extra second needed to hold the door for you. People who participate in large scale fundraisers such a "Race for the Cure", so that one by one, they can spotlight a serious issue, raise awareness, raise money, and have a great time while doing it.

I thought of these things today as we were downtown. As we passed the dozens of homeless people sleeping on the streets. And as I looked into the eyes of the people photographed in the coffee shop. It makes me realize how fortunate I am to live how I live. How fortunate my children are. How much I always tend to root for the underdog because I know that deep inside, there is a story to be told. There is a significant event or series of events that led to their being homeless. Somewhere along the path of their life, they fell off course. They ended up without shelter. They ended up alone. I treasure the success stories when someone is able to pick up the broken pieces of their life. I always try to stay hopeful that the widespread issues surrounding poverty and homelessness, will someday be addressed full scale. Will someday be cured. I guess the way to reach out now, is to do so on a daily basis. Take the small steps necessary to make a difference. Offer kindness and offer compassion. Positivity alone can be a very contagious thing.

Small steps can make a big difference. Look at how "bliptogether" has evolved. One small idea......and look at the global results. It really has become an impressive project. This project is promoting unity, love, and togetherness. One step at a time.....one "bliptogether" photo at a time. I can't wait to see Friday's debut!

Here's to keeping the hope for a bigger, brighter, and better future WORLDWIDE!

Blip Together Project

Adios for now blipland!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.