The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Old Forge

After the activities of the previous three days I had a lot of work at home to catch up on, although I did go into Calne to collect a parcel. The collection note had been left on the mat at lunchtime while I was in. The front door was open and the radio playing, and the UPS man can't have rung the bell. I had to wait until four o'clock before it would be ready for collection, and stopped at the Town Gardens on the way home to open the package that had come from Germany.

It was the expensive replacement lens cap for my macro lens, but although it looked like the original and had a description that matched my lens, it was actually the wrong lens cap and was fractionally too small. It turned out that the correct cap was not listed on the Ricoh-Pentax website and I had to go through a convoluted process to get it returned and then order the correct item. I tried to attach it without success, and while I was there, wandered around trying to get a blip, but failed due to windiness on the flowers.

Back home I got a picture of this monster weed, which was a couple of feet taller than I was! After I'd taken the picture, I pulled it up and put it in the green waste recycling bin.

L.
4.7.2014 (1131 hr)

Blip #1308
Consecutive Blip #170
Day #1547

Lens: Pentax 35 mm Macro

Old Forge series
Gardens series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Little Eva - Up On The Roof (1962)
I had awoken to the news that Gerry Goffin had died the previous day (June 18). I was a great admirer of the Goffin-King partnership and after that relationship ended and Carole King became a solo performer I realised that it was the lyrics of Gerry Goffin matched to the musical sensibilities of Carole King that made the music so special, and Carole King's own lyrics never captured the complex emotional language of the teenager with the same deceptive simplicity and directness that Gerry Goffin had.

This song was written with the Drifters in mind, and they recorded the original and had great success with it, but Gerry Goffin subsequently produced this version with a slightly revised lyric for Little Eva's debut album. She sang with the Cookies and sometimes served as babysitter for the couple. They wrote her big hit Locomotion, one of over 50 Top 40 hits they composed. Other favourites included Goin' Back, Wasn't Born To Follow, Don't Bring Me Down, A Road to Nowhere, He Hit Me (It Felt Like a Kiss), A Natural Woman, Chains and Is This What I Get For Loving You?

One year ago: Avebury

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.