The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Meadow brown

Compared to most butterfly species, the meadow brown is common and abundant, and this is true throughout much of Britain. Perhaps because of this, and its prosaic name, I have tended to take it for granted, hardly worth a second look.

Meadow browns were one of at least 6 species flying on a steep east facing bank on Arnside Knott at lunchtime. And this one was kind enough to allow me to fill the frame of the camera as it sipped nectar from bramble flowers. The photograph of its underside is uncropped, and demonstrates that while this may not be one of the most showy of our butterfly species, it is nevertheless a beautiful insect with its bands of brown scales and conspicuous eye spot.

My walk with Gus broke up a somewhat lazy day, the first time in ages when I have sat on the sofa and watched a sporting event. And what a spectacle it was, the Tour de Yorkshire from Leeds to Harrogate via the Yorkshire Dales. Just a shame that Cav crashed in the final sprint, and the way he was holding his arm afterwards looked very like a broken collar bone.

It's been a bright and sunny day after the welcome downpour of yesterday. And now it's nearly time for Gus's walk along the estuary. He is sat by my chair, staring intently at me, willing me to stand up and get his lead. I'm trying not to catch his eye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.