A SAD SIGHT

I went to Newcastle this afternoon.  The weather was lovely and it was very pleasant walking around.  I picked up my train tickets at the station and then went to The Theatre Royal to pick up my tickets from there.  Did a bit of shopping before coming home.

Didn't bother rushing back for the football but in the end I saw all of the 2nd half.  Argentina beat Belgium 1 - 0.  Watching the other match at the moment - its half time Holland V Costa Rica.  No goals yet.

My blip shot shows Balmbra's which I passed on my route from the train station to the theatre.  Its in a terrible state at the moment as it was badly damaged in a fire on June 2nd.  Two men were arrested for arson.

BALMBRA'S used to be an old style music hall venue and in 1862 it was the first place Geordie Ridley performed his famous song  The Blaydon Races.

First verse:~~~

Aw went to Blaydon Races, 'twas on the ninth of Joon
Eiteen hundred an' sixty-two, on a summer's efternoon
Aw tyuk the 'bus frae Balmbra's, an' she wis heavy laden
Away we went alang Collingwood Street, that's on the road to Blaydon.


In the 1960's and 1970's it still had musical variety shows in the large back room.  In the 1980's there used to be Country and Western nights and Douglas and I used to go there after work as our office was nearby.

I hope it will be renovated and open up again as its part of Newcastle folk lore.  It even has a blue plaque.

I had a message from Neil to say he was feeling much better - almost back to normal.  He went to Yorkshire this morning to see The Tour De France.  He was headed for Harrogate where today's stage was due to finish.  Saw on the news the dreadful accident involving Cavendish.  Hope he is OK and able to carry on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.