Le Waiting

Up early this morning for an breakfast networking event in Cambridge. The event started at 9 and as most of the roads near my office (where I was parking) were going to be closed I thought I'd leave extra early.

The roads were dead, hardly any traffic and so 20 mins later I was sitting at my desk!

The first part of the event was good, I met a few interesting people ate breakfast and drank some fizzy stuff. The second part involved sitting in a grandstand on the start line of the Tour. For 2 hours!

Luckily they gave us ice cream and coffee.

Cambridge was jam packed, people hanging from trees, phone boxes..

The parade lasted about an hour with all sorts of stuff going past. Cars with adverts for oven chips, TV stations, wine, chocolate, sweets, cars, car breakdown companies, tea, Yorkshire, Yorkshire tea, Sheffield all sort of stuff, no bikes though!

A lot of the people shouting wildly from the parade cars were French and at least three of them shouted that the Queen was here so we needed to wave, and everytime anything past lots of people whooped. It became tiresome after about an hour.

The lady standing next to me fired her camera at whatever was in front of her (she was like a sniper on speed ). I took about 120 pictures, most of which I have deleted. This lady was in servo mode and must have taken well over 1000 !

Anyway then the cyclists turned up, including this strange two headed fellow.

After an age they started. I think at this point everyone decided to give them a very slow Mexican wave.

The other pictures are here and yes that is Frankie Dettori

Le larger

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.