Scenes from everyday life

By jcdodds

Tour de France (3)

These lucky folk had a better vantage point than me.

I found a place amid huge crowds about 3 rows from the front down the Embankment. The riders were about half an hour later than expected and it rained.

I had a decent view of a small patch of tarmac. What I hadn’t realised was that there was a couple sitting on low deck chairs right by the barrier who stood up as the race approached us and blocked most of what view I had.

I saw the backs of the riders as they flashed past. It was impossible to tell who anyone was and it was all over in a moment for the main group and then a further handful of moments for the various stragglers.

One of those things that work better on the TV. The best bit was crowd watching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.