Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

Holding Hands

Holding hands.......something that I love to do. I love to hold my son's hand as I am walking him into preschool. I love it when my daughter holds onto my finger as we are walking into her dance class. I love holding my husband's hand when we are out together, just the two of us. Holding hands is more than a sweet gesture. It is a connection. It is a silent way of telling someone that you love them. That you care about them. And that is why I like holding hands.

How much longer will my kids still want to hold hands? That is the question that entered my mind this morning as we pulled into the preschool parking lot. Because my kids car seats are positioned next to one another, I can often reach my hand back and hold the hand or hands of my little ones. If they are willing, they can each fit one of their hands into mine and we have a moment of togetherness. A moment of showing our love. A connection that makes me smile and warms my heart. This moment is usually brief as one hand gets in the way of the other's hand, and then a small squabble ensues, and then the sweet moment of hand holding is over. Because I have been noticing some independent changes in my children lately, I decided that while we were parked, I needed to take the extra time to get a quick picture of the three of us holding hands. A quick shot to remind me of what we used to do. I have a feeling that when my little boy and girl are well into grade school, they are probably not going to want to be sharing Mommy's hand from the back seat anymore.

It is just amazing to me how quickly they are growing up. I know that everyone says that and that "life just passes by too quickly" but it is really true. My morning hug when saying goodbye to my son in his class has been cut way too short lately. Much shorter than the way he seemed to linger in September. Now he has friends to get to. Activities to start. Places to go, people to see. No time for extra long hugs Mom! But I get it. It the way it is supposed to be. It is healthy. My son is seeing a world larger than just Mommy and Daddy now. It's the way that it is supposed to be. But it still doesn't make it easy. And as I am processing this new change in our son, my daughter calls out to me from across the room, "Come on Mom, let's go". She is two. Whatever happened to "Mommy".

Ah well, I have been blessed with being able to stay home with my children since they were born. I have had countless hugs and kisses and "Mommy's" and everything else that comes with raising small children. It's just amazing to me that the independence is happening so quickly. It shouldn't surprise me though, I taught for six years and I saw the way that they kids entered school in September clinging to thier Mom and then just a couple of weeks later, began to insist that they be dropped off at the curb. I know now that I never really understood how hard this was for some of the Moms. But now that I am a Mom, I know.

It is important for me to treasure the cuddly moments when they do occur. Lock them away in my heart. Keep them forever in my mind. The moments will still be there, I just need to always make sure that I take the time for the hugs and the special moments when they are there. Tonight as I was tucking my son into bed, he looked at me and said, "Hey Mom". "I love you". "I love you very very much". Then he leaned in and gave me a kiss on my cheek. Ah a moment. A sweet tender moment that will forever live in my heart and always be locked away in my mind and my soul.

Holding hands is a tender moment. It is a moment that I feel blessed to have had captured today with my camera. Being a Mommy continues to be the best thing in the world. The best thing to have ever happened to me.

I love my little boy and my little girl with absolutely every piece of my heart! It is my job to make sure that they continue to ALWAYS know that!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.