Miah Smith

By miah9000

Shelter

We could be anywhere. Just some friends, having some wine and laughs after work, trying to forget that there is a pretty major storm outside. This is the third storm in as many days and we've already lost two and a half cabins, a bathroom, water, and power (we just got it back on) and we have at least two more storms headed our way. All of our houses have big trees hovering over them like tipsy guests staggering over folding chairs at a wedding reception. As the wind picks up outside, we simply turn up the stereo, not to completely avoid the severity of the moment, but to ensure it's not the focus of our every thought. Playing "who's got it worse" to decide who makes the trek to grab another bottle, I volunteer as I only have two medium size, somewhat younger trees dangling over my place. That, and the fact that I've been trying to get rid of my last cheap bottle of table red.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.