THE SWALLOW TAIL BUTTERFLY

when we had not started clearing the garage I perhaps would have not noticed her at all. Or perhaps I would still.
The 31th of july 2013 I saw a swallow tail for the first time and she became my blip that very day. She had sit on the buddlei along the driveway and I was so utterly astonished at that time.
Today when I was resting for a moment, sitting on a chair near the slope I saw one again. And she visited the buddleia behind me. First I had to run upstairs to get my camera, put the memory card in it and run down again. I managed to take two picture and then she flew away. Higher up the hill.
After lunch just when I had decided to start working again, there she was, hanging now from the same buddlei. For one moment I thought: there is backlight, but that did not stop me taking pictures. When I stepped around she flew and I waved her goodbye.
Only late in the afternoon I dared to look at what I had on my card.
In my guide book it is stated that this butterfly is common in Europe, only not everywhere in Great Britain. Needless to say that it is only twice that I saw this common butterfly.

My haiku:

I only saw her
Through my lens how strange is that
I'll hope for her return

And the proverb:

The bread (cake) never falls but on its buttered side.

1871 in N. & O. 4th Ser. VIII. 506 Lancashire Proverbs.
Unlucky persons often remark, 'My cake always falls on the butter side down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.